Advent Events

SOUTHBAY DEANERY ADVENT PENANCE SERVICES

  • St. Charles | Monday, Nov 29 | 7:00pm
  • ST. PIUS X | Tuesday, Nov 30 | 7:00pm
  • Corpus Christi | Wednesday, Dec 1 | 7:00pm
  • Mater Dei | Monday, Dec 6 | 7:00pm
  • Most Precious Blood | Thursday, Dec 9 | 7:00pm
  • Our Lady of Mount Carmel | Friday, Dec 10 | 7:00pm
  • St. Mary’s | Saturday, Dec 11 | 2:00pm
  • St. Rose of Lima | Tuesday, Dec 14 | 7:00pm
  • Our Lady of Guadalupe | Wednesday, Dec 15 7:00pm

ADVENT PENANCE SERVICE
Tuesday, Nov. 30 | 7:00pm

To prepare ourselves to receive Jesus into our hearts and homes this Christmas, we invite you to join us in the Sacrament of Reconciliation — a beautiful sacrament of God’s mercy that should not be looked at as a “requirement,” but as an “opportunity” to receive God’s love.

The penance service will include Evening Prayer from Liturgy of the Hours.


THE SOLEMNITY OF THE IMMACULATE CONCEPTION OF THE BLESSED VIRGIN MARY
Wednesday, Dec 8 | 7:30am, 5:00pm, 7:00pm (Spanish)

This Holy Day of Obligation commemorates when St. Anne immaculately conceived Mary, filled with divine grace and free from the stain of original sin from the moment of her conception.

On Sundays and other Holy Days of Obligation, the faithful are bound to participate in the Mass. One of the chief reasons behind these holy days is to highlight a specific aspect of the life of Christ or to give honor to the role of the Blessed Virgin Mary and the communion of saints. These days are for the spiritual benefit of Christ’s flock and are opportunities to receive grace.


PARISH CELEBRATION FOR THE FEAST OF OUR LADY OF GUADALUPE
Sunday, Dec 12

11:15am - Procession from the Plaza to the Church 11:30am - Mananitas
12:00pm - Mass (Spanish)
1:00pm - Mariachi
1:30pm - Representation of the Apparitions of Our Lady of Guadalupe directed by Fr. Ernesto and performed by our Campus Youth Ministry
2:00pm - Food will be served


PARISH NOVENA OF NIGHT MASSES-“SIMBANG GABI” 
Wednesday, Dec 15 - Thursday, Dec 23 | 7:00pm* Mass
*Saturday, Dec 18 will be celebrated at the 5:00pm Vigil

This Filipino custom — a devotional nine-day series of Masses — is celebrated in anticipation of the Nativity of the Lord and is a way of accompanying Mary, symbolically in prayer, through the 9 months of her pregnancy.

The Diocesan Kick-Off of Simbang Gabi is on Tuesday, December 14 at 7pm at the Church of the Resurrection in Escondido.


POSADAS Y PASTORELA
Saturday, Dec 18 following 5:00pm Mass

The Hispanic Community invites you to reflect on the reason for this holy season at their annual Posada – the reenactment of Mary and Joseph’s search for lodging in the town of Bethlehem. Traditional Mexican treats will be served.
Little Jesus awaits you!